DESIRABLE TRAITS OF A LEADER

integrity

integrity (Photo credit: glsims99)

I work as a public servant and deal with many people with a lot of different personalities.  Believe me when I say that I look at some of these people and wonder how they got a job let alone this one. This journey that some call “WORK” but I call “THE THING THAT INTERRUPTS MY PERSONAL TIME“, I have been at for almost thirteen years. During those years I learned a lot from many people, good and bad. I say all the time “Thanks, for letting me know what not to do as a ____________.”(fill in the blank)  I just had the opportunity to work with someone who I appreciated and left me with these words of wisdom to help me become a better person.  I believe she said the military go by these traits. I read them everyday that I come into work and want to share them those who never heard of them or remind those that forgot about them.

Justice

Justice (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

  1. BEARING – creating a favorable impression in carriage, appearance, and personal conduct at all times
  2. COURAGE(PHYSICAL & MORAL) – a moral quality which recognizes fear of danger or criticism but the individual is able to meet danger or opposition with calmness and firmness
  3. DECISIVENESS – ability to make decisions promptly and then express them in a clear and forceful manner
  4. ENDURANCE – mental and physical stamina measured by the ability to stand pain, fatigue, distress and hardship
  5. ENTHUSIASM – the display of sincere interest and exuberance in the performance of duties
  6. INITIATIVE – a quality of seeing what has to be done and commencing a course of action
  7. INTEGRITY – uprightness of character and soundness or moral principle: the quality of absolute truthfulness and honesty
  8. JUDGEMENT – weighing facts and possible solutions on which to base sound decisions
  9. JUSTICE – being impartial and consistent in exercising command
  10. KNOWLEDGE – acquired information including professional knowledge and in understanding your subordinates
  11. LOYALTY – faithfulness to country, then your unit, your senior and subordinate
  12. TACT – the ability to deal with others without creating offense
  13. UNSELFISHNESS – the avoidance of providing for one’s own comfort and personal advancement at the expense of other
3 thoughts on “DESIRABLE TRAITS OF A LEADER

  1. Anjanette says:

    This is a comment to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your website: http://bag.sh/16M They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  2. I warm esp to 4, 6, 11. =) If it interests, I did a post on leadership in the postmodern age and the virtual world:

    http://holisticwayfarer.com/2014/08/01/your-place-in-the-virtual-revolution/

    Keep up the thoughtful blogging.

    HW

Leave a Reply

